Classes
Education
Bio
Info

Fall 2017

Section 0345 of CSKLS770
Supervised Tutoring -- : Aug 21 - Dec 22 2017
The above section meets T 5-7pm in 1837 and S 10am-2pm in 1837.

Section 1444 of CSKLS770
Supervised Tutoring -- : Aug 21 - Dec 22 2017
MESA Tutorial hours are Mon-Thurs from 8:30am-5:00pm and Fri 8:30am-1:00pm.

Section 4131 of CSKLS770
Supervised Tutoring -- : Aug 21 - Dec 21 2017
The Tutorial Center is located in the Doyle Library, Rm 4251. It is open MTWTh from 8am-7:00pm and F 8am-3pm.

Spring 2017

Section 4391 of CSKLS770
Supervised Tutoring -- : Jan 17 - May 26 2017
The Tutorial Center is located in the Doyle Library, Rm 4251. It is open MTWTh from 8am-7:00pm and F 8am-3pm.

Section 5912 of CSKLS371
General Arithmetic -- : Jan 18 - May 17 2017
The above section is web-enhanced with homework to be completed online. Calculators will not be used for the first half of the semester.

Section 6071 of CSKLS770
Supervised Tutoring -- : Jan 17 - May 26 2017

Section 6948 of CSKLS372
Pre-Algebra -- : Jan 17 - May 18 2017
Calculators will not be used for the first half of the semester.

B.A. University of California, Berkeley
M.A. San Francisco State University

My Master's Degree included a lot of coursework in teaching methods, materials development and testing in the basic skills disciplines, in addition to coursework in those disciplines.

I've been teaching basic education to adults since receiving my Masters Degree at SF State University. For the last twenty years, I've been concentrating on teaching basic math. I have a continuing and committed interest not only in math as a discipline, but also in how adult learn. I believe that students learn in different ways and I try to provide several types of activities according to my students' needs.

I love music of all kinds. I speak Chinese and Italian and I love to travel. I think travel is a necessary part of any education. I've lived in several countries, including Hong Kong, Yugoslavia, and Algeria. I've traveled in Great Britain, France, Italy, Spain, Switzerland, Austria, Portugal, Greece, Turkey, Cuba, Japan, Taiwan, Singapore, Malaysia, the Philippines and Mexico. My travels have enriched my life, but have always led me back to Sonoma County. I am particularly interested in the educational, culinary and cultural opportunities that this county has to offer.

Professional Areas of Interest: 

I am particularly interested in exploring ways to help adults succeed in college. I feel I need to teach not only mathematical concepts in class but also study skills such as time management, test-taking, notetaking and organizational skills. I believe in the importance of learning math for practical purposes as well as just to make it to the next math class. I believe in whatever works to allow a student to learn math, and I am willing to experiment with just what that is.

http://online.santarosa.edu/homepage/jmuzzatti:  http://online.santarosa.edu/homepage/jmuzzatti